Penfield Reef Lighthouse
Project Overview & Specifications
- Project Location: Offshore Fairfield, CT
- Architect: U.S. Coast Guard Civil Engineering Unit Providence
- Owner: U.S. Coast Guard Civil Engineering Unit Providence
- Completion Date: December 2015
- Cost Range: $1,174,503
Penfield Reef Lighthouse is an historic lighthouse landmark located off the coast of Fairfield, Connecticut in the Long Island Sound. The granite caisson foundation was erected in 1871 and the lighthouse building itself was completed in 1873.
Named after a prominent Fairfield family, Penfield Reef was known for years as “Blue Line Graveyard” due to the sheer number of boats running aground on the reef. The lighthouse is said to be haunted by old lighthouse keeper Frederick A. Jordan, who presumably drowned after being seen traversing rough seas from the lighthouse to shore to get home in time for Christmas.
Kronenberger & Sons was tasked with complete exterior envelope restoration, including restoration of the granite caisson above the high tide line and the complete repair and restoration of the light keeper’s house. Our scope of the house alone included restoration and repointing of granite masonry, rebuilding of the brick chimney, the replacement of existing fenestrations including doors, windows, and running trim, replacement of the existing roof assembly, stripping and repainting of the steel octagon light and reglazing, along with lead and asbestos hazardous material abatement.
Penfield Reef Lighthouse is number #89001473 on the National Register of Historic Places.
“Interior clean up of the lighthouse was meticulous as well as work performed by the mason on the chimney and brickwork around the structure. [...] All around a very pleasant experience with the work performed.”