The Greenwich Senior Center, previously Greenwich Town Hall, is located in downtown Greenwich, Connecticut. The building was designed by Mowbray and Uffinger in the Beaux Arts style and was built in 1905 by Robert M. Bruce. The building was used as the town hall up until 1977 when the government offices were moved into the old Greenwich High School.
The building has a very noticeable vertical cube shape and is three stories tall, with its first story appearing more rustic. The roof sits above a copper cornice where a clock adorns the front of the building. Above the clock is its iconic cupola.
Kronenberger & Sons was responsible for masonry repointing, brick and stone cleaning, copper restoration, ornamental copper replication, and slate shingle roof replacement. KSR’s largest task was removing, fully rebuilding, and reinstalling the 16 foot-tall copper-clad cupola.
The Greenwich Senior Center is #8700807 on the National Register of Historic Places.
Author: Ryan Jockers, Hartford Courant